An Idea That Changed Your Life

When people find out I worked for Facebook previously almost always their immediate reaction is, “WHY on earth would you do that?! You worked for such a well-known brand and now you’re working for a local brand? I don’t understand it!” And I don’t expect you to. On my last day in Facebook I posted a message explaining why I was leaving Facebook. My dream/ambition/aspiration/goal is to start my own chain of hotels one day and it was time that I made that crucial decision. It was definitely one of the most difficult decisions I’ve made recently. But now that I’ve made it, I’ve got to find my way through.

A week into my new job in a hospitality company and a friend asked me, “Do you like it?”. “It’s okay”, I said. “It’s too early to ‘like’ it”. A few weeks later my answer changed to “I love it!” My whole life changed with that one decision. With it came more tension, frustration, cut-throat competition, being at the mercy of unkind strangers, long hours and all that but every day I wake up feeling better about myself because I’m one day closer to my ambition. Just by making the decision to quit Facebook, I crossed over the threshold of dream and reality. I am living my dream. A long road ahead to my ambition but the destination is visible.

If I ever find myself on Koffee With Karan and he asks me in his rapid fire section “An idea that changed your life…” I will say, “The idea of going after my dream”.

Sunayana Sen

Leave a Reply

